To honour established scientists and teachers and motivate young researchers who excel in their research areas, the Association has instituted the following Awards. Competitors are requested to mention the name of the award during submission of application. All awards will be presented during the valedictory ceremony on November 30, 2019 except for the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Fellow of Indian Association of Applied Microbiologists (FIAAM)

For IAAM Fellow kindly send your detailed CV to Dr. N. Arunagirinathan, Secretary, IAAM (email: After the approval of the executive committee you will be informed on the acceptance. Minimum 10 years of service in academia is essential. After the approval, kindly send a DD for Rs. 5000 drawn in favour of the Treasurer, IAAM to Dr. S. Anbalagan, Head, Department of Microbiology, MCAS, Rasipuram.

Lifetime Achievement Award

This award is given to an eminent Microbiologist with minimum 25 years of experience and other credentials. The executive committee of the association will nominate candidates for this award. The awardees will be presented with citation, medal and a certificate.

Outstanding Teacher Award

This award is nominated by the executive committee and is instituted by Dr. N. Selvakumar, Scientist-G, National Institute for Research in Tuberculosis for a teacher working in Science College from more than 10 years in Microbiology with credentials. The nominated teacher will be given a citation, medal and certificate.

Anand Rao Memorial Award

Anand Rao Memorial Award is for the best paper presented. This award was instituted by Dr. Usha Anand Rao. The candidate should submit the abstract of the paper to the Secretary, Dr. N. Arunagirinathan, Assistant Professor in Microbiology, Presidency College, Chennai- 600008. email:  on or before November 15, 2019. The winner will be presented with the medal and certificate during the valedictory function.

Prof. Dr. P. Rajendran’s “Young Scientist Award”

This award is given to Microbiologists below the age of 35 years (Age proof should be attached) for their research work. The candidate should submit 2 page write up on the specific research work on a specialized field carried out so far with the list of publications and other credentials to the Secretary,       Dr. N. Arunagirinathan, Asst. Professor, Department of Microbiology, Presidency College, Chennai,  email: The selected candidate will be given a citation, medal and certificate.

Dr. Hansel Fletcher and Dr. Wilson Aruni Scholarship award

The award is given in the field of “Applied Molecular Microbiology” to students who are currently enrolled in Masters/ M.Phil. /Ph.D. program at the time of submitting the nomination. Nomination for the award should be submitted to the Secretary, Dr. Arunagirinathan, through  email:  along with a letter from a competent authority verifying the student candidature with an abstract (250 words) covering aim, introduction, methods, results and conclusion of the work. The work should be presented during the special session and best presentation will be selected for this award. The award will include a certificate and medal.

Dr. Wilson Aruni Award for “Best Research Mentor & Teacher Award”

This award is presented for one deserving best teacher and research mentor. The qualifying candidate for this award should hold a permanent teaching position in college/Institution and should have a minimum of 10 years overall teaching and research experience. The applicant should be nominated by the Head of Department (or) the Head of the institution of the candidate. The candidate should be less than 45 years of age at the time of application (Proof of age should be submitted) and should possess a Ph.D. in any field of Microbiology/Biotechnology/Biochemistry. The awardees will be selected by the executive committee constituted by the IAAM.

Applications should contain a one-page covering letter addressing their significant achievements in teaching and research and separate descriptive curriculum vitae that includes publications (preferably with impact factors), patents, students mentored with the topic of their research and their respective publications.

Dr. Narasingam Arunagirinathan Award for “Best Research Scholar”

Dr. Narasingam Arunagirinathan Award is given for the best research scholar in the field of Microbiology. The research scholars should send the abstracts to Dr. Arunagirinathan, secretary IAAM, email: Three shortlisted candidates will compete for the award. The winner will be presented with the medal and certificate.

Dr. P. Rajendran Memorial Award for Best Outgoing Student in Microbiology

This award is given to the best outgoing UG/PG Student in Microbiology in the name of late Dr. P .Rajendran, the founder president of IAAM. The host institution which is organizing the annual conference of the IAAM will nominate its best outgoing student from passed out batch. The awardee will be presented with a Medal and Certificate